Conservatives Maintain Their Grip in Local Elections

But borough of Hammersmith and Fulham  shows big divide

Information and related stories

Hammersmith and Fulham Elections 2010


Sign up for a free newsletter from


Local Authority Elections May 2010

Hammersmith & Fulham Overall Results

Party 2010 2005 2002
Labour 15 13 27
Conservative 31 33 19

With votes in all 16 wards in Hammersmith and Fulham finally declared just after 5pm, the results show the Tories still firmly in control, winning 31 of the available 46 seats. Labour won the remaining 15.

This is a slightly smaller win than the Tories achieved in the 2006 local election, when they gained control from Labour by winning 33 of the 46 available seats.

There are 16 wards in Hammersmith and Fulham, each with two or three councillors, who are elected every four years.

But while the Tories have reason to celebrate, a closer look at the result reveals that our borough remains deeply divided. While all six wards in Fullham now have Conservative councillors, all four in Shepherds Bush chose Labour candidates.

In Hammersmith, only Hammersmith Broadway ward had a solid Labour vote, with all other wards voting for Tory councillors apart from North End ward in W14 which chose two Tories and one Labour councillor.

Those re-elected included Alex Karmel, the current Mayor of Hammersmith and Fulham and Stephen Cowan, who is leader of the Labour group of councillors.

Turn out was high across the borough, from 58% to to almost 70% in Fulham's Palace Riverside.

Full details of ward results will follow.