Big Changes Coming to Local Constituency Boundaries
Chelsea and Fulham will gain four new wards



Boundary Commission Consultation

Hammersmith and Fulham Council's consultation

Local constituency boundaries for the next general election are set for big changes, following new recommendations from the Boundary Commission.

As part of its 2013 Review of Parliamentary boundaries, the Commission is proposing to introduce changes that will reduce the number of constituencies in England from 533 to 502 and make sure that each constituency has a similar number of registered electors.

London has been allocated 68 constituencies – a reduction of five from the current arrangement.

In our existing constituency of Chelsea and Fulham the Commission is proposing that four new wards should be added. They are Courtfield and Earl’s Court from the existing Kensington constituency, and Fulham Reach and North End from the existing Hammersmith constituency.

The plans have been welcomed by Chelsea and Fulham MP Greg Hands who says: " I am pleased the Boundary Commission has retained the concept of a Chelsea and Fulham constituency, adding parts of north Fulham which I used to represent from 2005 until 2010."

He adds: " These are initial recommendations, and I am not able to comment on the Boundary Commission's other proposals in the area, but if these proposals become the final ones, I will be putting myself forward for selection for the revised Chelsea and Fulham constituency."

Elsewhere in the borough, the Boundary Commission recommends even bigger changes with the creation of a new Hammersmith and Acton constituency, which will include seven wards currently in Hammersmith - Addison, Askew, Avonmore and Brook Green, Hammersmith Broadway, Ravenscourt Park, Shepherd's Bush Green and Wormholt and White City - plus Acton Central, East Acton and Southfield, which are currently in the Ealing Central and Acton constituency.

The commission is also proposing to create a new Willesden constituency, which will include College Park and Old Oak, which is currently included in Hammersmith.


The Boundary Commission for England reviews Parliamentary constituency boundaries every five years. The new constituencies are likely to be the ones used for the next election which is currently expected to be in 2015.

They are consulting on their initial proposals for a 12-week period, from September 13 to December 5, 2011. They are encouraging everyone to contribute to the design of the new constituencies. There will also be public hearings to discuss the changes.

The London region comprises the 32 London boroughs and the City of London. The region currently has 73 constituencies but this will fall to 68 if the new proposals are adopted.

The consultation website is at

This contains reports and maps, the electorate sizes of every ward and an online facility where you can have your say on the initial proposals.

You can also contribute to the consultation by writing directly to: BoundaryCommission for England, 35 Great Smith Street, London SW1P 3BQ. Or email

Hammersmith and Fulham Council is also keen to hear local residents' views on the proposed boundary changes. You will find its online questionnaire here . The council says you have until November 4 to respond.


September 22, 2011