|Free Entry to Fulham's Most Fascinating Sites|
Local buildings part of Open House London
Open House London, the capital's largest architectural showcase, will see 700 buildings across the city opening their doors for free public visits on September 19 and 20 - including some of Fulham's most fascinating places.
Here are the details:
All Saints Church, by Putney Bridge: 15th century tower, 19th century nave (designed by Sir Arthur Blomfield, 1880-81) and many fine monuments. Good stained glass. Churchyard contains newly restored tomb of Granville Sharp, father of Abolitionist movement and tombs of Bishops of London.
Open Sat - 11am-4pm. Sun - 1pm-5pm.
Charing Cross Hospital, Fuham Palace Road: View the Riverside Wing (Ansell and Bailey 2006) with sculpture by David Mach, the hospital chapel (Ralph Rubbs) with stained glass by John Piper and West London Mental Health Centre (Frederick Gibberd Partnership) with sculpture and prints by Bill Woodrow. Other works by Peter Blake and Bridget Riley.
Open Sun - 10.30am-2.30pm. Sun tours at 10.30am and 12.30pm. Pre-book ONLY on 020 8383 5226 or email Emelie.Salford@imperial.nhs.uk.
Fulham Palace, Bishop' Avenue: Former residence of the Bishop of London. Tudor courtyard with Georgian additions and Butterfield chapel (1866). Reopened after Lottery funded restoration in 2006 with rooms around east courtyard restored and returned to late Georgian colour scheme.
Open Sat - 11am - 2pm. Sun - 11.30am - 3.30pm. Saturday tours of offices which are not normally open to the public on the half hour, pre-book ONLY on 010 7610 7164. Sunday tours of major ground floor public rooms on the hour (no pre-booking required).
Hurlingham Club, Ranelagh Gardens: Last of the grand 18th century mansions which once fronted this part of the river, with magnificent interiors and extensive grounds.
Open Sat - 11am - 4pm. Saturday tours at 11am and 3pm.
Maggie's Centre, Charing Cross Hospital: A non-institutional 'open house', Maggie's is a flexible space designed to be welcoming, uplifting and thought-provoking. The raised roof allows natural light to enter the whole of the building. Partitions divide up the open structure, placing the kitchen at the heart of the building.
Sun - 11am-4pm. Regular tours, first come basis. Last entry 3.30pm.
September 9, 2009